Tough Love

10 March 2020. The day we put down the King of our estate cats, Mikki. He was a burly 12-year-old community cat.

His health deteriorated, suddenly and rapidly after an eye infection. Paralysis set in, he wasn’t eating and drinking on his own, and he couldn’t go to the toilet. The signs point to a neurological issue although the vets couldn’t pinpoint the problem unless a CT scan and a series of diagnostic tests were performed at a special clinic. At this stage, Mikki was already very weak. Euthanasia was brought up, an option three vets concurred with. We gave him a week, hoping against hope that his condition would change for the better with some antibiotics and steroids to treat infection and inflammation. 

A week went by.  His legs started paddling uncontrollably, seizure triggers became more frequent, and eventually he had difficulty swallowing.  He had a glazed look, and the vet said he was likely blind now. It was heartbreaking to see him in this state, and I knew the humane thing to do was to end his suffering swiftly.

It was hard to say goodbye, especially for Mikki’s closest caregiver who is heartbroken. When Mikki’s heart stopped beating, the finality of it hit her hard, and she regretted her decision.

But, I have no doubt that it was the right thing to do after I’ve watched him struggle through his last few days. We couldn’t provide him with an effective medical treatment. His death was imminent. I didn’t want to prolong his suffering and let him die in agonizing pain alone in a room.

Tough love is called for.

I’m just sorry that I couldn’t do more for Mikki. If I had all the money in the world, I would give him the best medical treatment in town.

So, now I am pondering over the subject of euthanasia. It’s an age-old question. There’s no right or wrong. Some of us view putting down a pet differently, whether it’s due to religion or other factors. It’s a heart versus head decision, and my consideration would always  stem from the animal’s quality of life. But, it’s heartbreaking to send a pet to animal heaven when you actually do it.

The pain of letting go Mikki lingers even though he wasn’t my pet. I suppose it’s hard to emotionally distance myself from these animals when I see them day in day out.

I can now appreciate the strain that comes with trying to save the lives of others. I have the utmost respect for the job rescue workers do.

It’s emotionally draining, but rescuing cats and dogs have taught me many lessons. That life is short, and we should be grateful for what we have.  It’s important to stay Zen and not to be bogged down by what others say, or let emotions get the better of us. On top of that, animals have feelings and we should be kind to them.

In the course of my rescue work, I see people from all walks of life. It’s so incredible to me how some people can be so big-hearted and selfless, and they inspire me. On the other end, I’ve witness how some humans have little or no regard for how they are affecting the lives of other living beings. 

At the end of the day,  it’s important to be a good person.

Fatboy Mikki, I dedicate this piece to you.

Run free in cat heaven. We hope you will understand that letting you go is our way of loving you. Please don’t hate Aunty Ling for calling you fat and restricting your food intake

We will miss you.

IMG_20200310_184725_226